Designer Interview with Stacy Igel designer of Boy Meets Girl

We are very excited to be stocking American brand, Boy Meets Girl

We stocked this brand a few years ago and are again so pleased to have it back!

Our favourite is the bespoke hoodies they do – you can get your name & your partners name on them – how CUTE!!!

We had the opportunity to interview the brand designer, Stacy Igel, so we could find out as much as we could about the brand – how it started, and lots of other nosy questions & we couldnt wait to share it with you guys!

Boy Meets Girl Brand – Stacy Igel
Boy Meets Girl Brand – Stacy Igel

Boy Meets Girl® is a fun, flirty, and edgy young contemporary brand worn by celebrities such as Rosario Dawson, Rachel Bilson, Nina Dobrev and Kendall Jenner. Created in 2001 by fashion designer & Creative Director Stacy Igel, Boy Meets Girl®s iconic boy and girl silhouette logo has been featured in publications like InStyle, Teen Vogue, Lucky, Seventeen, WWD and the New York Times. The brand has previously been seen on the racks of department stores such as; Bergdorf Goodman and Bloomingdales. Boy Meets Girl® offers a full range of graphics tops and bottoms, jackets and accessories that can currently be found online and in specialty stores worldwide.

Inspired by the vibrant New York art and music scenes, Boy Meets Girl® has been a staple and leader at New York Fashion incorporating live music down the runway and working with top musical acts such as the Neon Trees, Wyclef Jean, Natasha Bedingfield and Austin Mahone; as well as celebrity models such as Brittany Snow, Kate Voegele, and Sloane Stephens.

Kendall Jenner in Boy Meets Girl
Kendall Jenner in Boy Meets Girl

When did you get into fashion?.

Stacy: “Well, I told my Mom at the age of 4 that I would only wear dresses to nursery school… I dressed my pre–K classmates and staged fashion shows from my school cafeteria. My mom was an entrepreneur and I definitely inherited that from her — its in my blood.”

• Could you describe the role that you play in the company?

“Stacy:

 “I was recently interviewed by ModaDossier.com One of their questions to me was, Walk us through a typical day in your life. I had never really stopped to think about my patterns. I found it quite shocking that I do really have a routine, and just going through this exercise actually taught me something about myself but more on that in a bit. First, below, a typical Stacy Igel day…

Wake-up 6am. First thing I do? Reach for my phone (I know, I know). Time to get social: Insta, tweet, like… dork out on customized news courtesy of theSkimm… Brush my teeth, get dressed and kiss my husband (sometimes not in that order!)… Have a shake (Barlean’s greens, some fruit, chia seeds, almond butter, almond milk and whey protein). If I leave early enough, hop on the train and read an actual physical paper, Women’s Wear Daily (which I have been reading since my first subscription was sent to me at the age of 12). Can’t do that during rush hour though, the natives get too restless. If I’m late, I’ll hop in a cab, get stuck in traffic, and yell at myself for not taking the subway. But at least I can start going through my emails and reading WhoWhatWear, which is perfect for what’s trending right now (thanks Mindy Kaling for Rockin’ BMG). Once I get to work, the meetings begin: Design, Sales, Social , E-com, PR, Bizdev. Without fail, someone in one of these meetings (often me) will mention an article in TechCrunch or Mashable that is apropos of something we’re talking about. And then someone will lead the meeting off on a tangent (again, often me) about something funny they read in Buzzfeed. After meetings, we “break” for lunch. Well, not really a break, because I’m not kidding when I tell you that I often have 500 new emails to go through while I eat lunch. Around 6pm, the office begins to get quiet. I love this time of day. I can be super efficient. I turn the speakers up to eleven and just get crackin’. I’ve tried to cut down on the number of after work dinner and events I go to. Otherwise, you know, I’d have no personal life. When I do have events, my husband (who’s also in the business) often joins me. When I get home, I unwind with some truly horrible reality TV while my husband tries to sleep! My husband says I burn the candle at both ends, but isn’t that what life is all about???”

Where does most of you inspiration come from?
Stacy: “As a designer, I draw inspiration from a variety of eclectic influences: vintage clothing, the vibrant New York art and music scenes, and Hollywood glamourati. I always listen to music while designing. I try to feed off whatever artist I am loving at the time and bring some of the passion, fearlessness and personality of that music into my line.”

Who are the people that inspire you the most?
Stacy: “As far as business mentors/role models goes, there’s Elie Tahari, Zandra Rhodes and Elsa Klensch, all of whom I’ve worked for and all of whom were hard workers in their own right even after they’d “made it.” That was an eye opener for me. I was smart enough to recognize that the hard workers were usually the individuals who got the big opportunities in life. They were also the ones who were prepared to capitalize on those opportunities. Stylistically, I’m going to give you my holy trinity of influences. First, Coco Chanel, who famously said, “Fashion is not something that exists in dresses only. Fashion is in the sky, in the street, fashion has to do with ideas, the way we live, what is happening.” I agree. I think that’s why I am so happy working as hard as I do. Second, Kate Moss; Of course she’s a beautiful and confident woman, but what I love about her is the way she effortlessly transitions from eclectic vintage to high fashion. She never looks like she’s trying to put an outfit together – everything looks like it just naturally belongs on her body. Third, Patti Smith; She’s stayed true to her edgy stylishness since the 70s. She’s unflappable.

And last of course my mother and father!”

• Top memorable moments or turning points in your line?
Stacy: “Building a business from scratch is the biggest struggle. You have to put all the pieces of the puzzle together. Being under-financed in the beginning was hard because I was unable to grow and hire as quickly as I would have loved too against other brands that had major money and capital behind them. I took on every task, as I had to be amazing at it all so I could train my team as I grew. Design time became 10% of my day and business became 90%. I struggled growing my collection season after season because I had to deal with all the components that make for a successful brand i.e. sales, production, managing etc. My Husband (Dj Blue Steel), my family and my best friends encouraged me to stay the course. In my darkest moments I would see the light at the end of the tunnel and so I would keep moving. I remember in 2005, I pulled a bunch of all-nighters at the office. And each time I did that the next day without my knowledge I would be featured in The New York Times or the Wall Street Journal or someone would spot a celebrity wearing my clothes on a TV show. So I said to myself, I can keep doing this. I will never trade my experience in this path for anything. Yes, it would have been nice to have had backers at the time when I launched in every major department store across the country, but I have the skills now to do it all and that is what I am doing now. This time line I think breaks down some of the amazing memorable moments in my career

BMG timeline

• What are your favourite pieces from each collection?

“This a hard question as I have designed a lot of styles but I think the most stand out pieces and most successful would have to be my iconic Alice Tee & Coco Hoodies all bearing the Boy Meets Girl(R) iconic trademarked logo. I also loveeee designing party dresses too which I did a lot of in my S/S 2014 collection you can see here  Also I am obssessed with my new jewelry collection Boy Meets Girl(R) x Roman Luxe . I wear my funky ring everyday! 

Boy Meets Girl ® Personalized Vintage Fleece Coco Hoodie
Boy Meets Girl ® Personalized Vintage Fleece Coco Hoodie

• Describe your personal style?
“I like to think its eclectic, edgy, and demure all rolled into one neat little package.”

Where do you see your brand in the future?
“I think, in many ways, Boy Meets Girl® is still an emerging brand with a lot of room for growth. The quality of the product – design, fabric, etc. – is where it needs to be. I’ve recently partnered with Just Dance for fashion week and am working on more “out of the box” partnerships which I will be rolling out the rest of the year and into the future! I think the brand is ready for its close-up and it’s an exciting time for all of us. I’d like our e-commerce and social media to become the most user-friendly and engaging brand discovery and sales platform in fashion. The website and our e-commerce is a crucial discovery tool for us. We have to make sure our message is focused so that visitors know exactly who our brand is and what we stand for. On a related note, I’d like to have a larger international presence. The brand is big enough now to begin doing that slowly and smartly. I also see combining brick and mortar stand alone stores across the country!”

 What is your advice for students especially those trying to break into the fashion industry?

Stacy:

“1. Be prepared to work like you’ve never worked before.

2. Being a talented designer is not enough. You need to learn how to be an effective marketer, networker, salesperson, service provider, writer, stylist, merchandiser and psychiatrist too.

3.Work with multiple vendors and never stop sourcing potential new ones. It gives you leverage and protects you from catastrophes.

4.Last, but not least… BELIEVE! I quickly learned the importance of hard work and customer service. There are a lot of amazingly talented people in this world. While you may not always be the most creative, charming or brilliant person in the room, you can be the hardest working and most dedicated, that is something that is totally within your own control. By working hard, my bosses took notice at my earlier jobs and my employees take notice now. Its leadership by example and I think it fosters loyalty and camaraderie.”

Leave a Reply

