David Jon Acosta Interview – Designer of Gold Saturn + Our Prince of Peace

David Jon Acosta
David Jon Acosta

 

Gold Saturn tees have been stocked at Spoiled Brat since 2010 and sister brand, Our Price of Peace since 2012

Designer David Jon Acosta is a free-spirited wild child, and his edgy, effortlessly chic Gold Saturn collection reflects just that. From daily vintage outings as a teen to Key West excursions as an adult, David Jon has always been inspired by his youth, rebellion, everything 1970’s, and his hometown of Miami. A true style prodigy, at 25, David Jon is establishing Gold Saturn as one of the hottest, fastest-growing collections within the contemporary arena.
“My line is for the person in the room that you want to get to know better,” says the designer. Although the line has attracted celebrity fans and movers & shakers, David Jon doesn’t have plans to create Red Carpet gowns any time soon.

Gold Saturn radiates effortless style, and is known for soft cottons, pleasing colour combos, and psychadelic imagery.

We were excited when we had the opportunity to interview designer David, about his 2 brands & even more excited to share with you lovely people.

Tell us a little a bit about where Gold Saturn came from? How did the idea come about?

“Gold Saturn was named after my first car- a Gold Saturn! It was a huge clunker but me and my friends had the time of our lives in that ride. I found myself overcome with this feeling of rebellion, freedom, and youth! I like to think that my designs evoke that same feeling.”

What has been the biggest challenge so far in the growth of Gold Saturn?
“The biggest challenge is keeping it new and fresh, and keeping the ball rolling! The designing is the easy part, and that takes about 5% of my time… unfortunately! “

How did Gold Saturn get started? Tell our readers about its origin.

“I was working retail and I started selling my tees in the shop, more as a favour to the owners. It pretty much started from there.”

Give us a behind the scenes sneak peek by describing the creative process behind the brand?

“Every collection starts off with a story, and develops from there.”

What inspires you most when coming up with design concepts?

“That depends, my inspiration is always changing. Right now I just moved to Miami Beach so I’m really feeling art deco patterns and art deco graphics. I’m also influenced by religion, church, faith, death right now as well.”

What is the future of Gold Saturn? Where do you see the label next year? 5 years from now?

“I see it developing more as a lifestyle brand. I want to branch out from the tees and tanks, and do bottoms- leggings, shorts, sweatpants, etc. One thing is for sure, dont expect me to make gowns or couture any time soon. Gold Saturn is all about being comfortable and cheeky.”

What are the top 3 songs or artists you are listening to at the moment?

“My favourite musicians are Dragonette, The Pretty Reckless, Kylie Minogue, Britney, Gaga. Just like my designs, my music selection is pretty girly”.

What is one of your biggest fears?

“My biggest fear is to one day have to have a normal 9-5 job! I’ve been working since I was 13, and have had every job in the book. I learned at a young age that I don’t want to work for anyone else other than myself.”

Favourite colours for fall?

“burgundy, grey, cherry red, and nude with a pop of colour.”

Who do you look up to? admire? …and why?

“Well my favourite designers are Marc Jacobs, DVF, Alexander Wang, and Vivienne Westwood. I have a lot of admiration for Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen as well. They have worked so hard to establish themselves in the fashion industry, and are doing an amazing job with Elizabeth and James and The Row. Their book Influence is pretty amazing too.”

If you could give any words of advice to aspiring designers what would they be?

“To take web design classes and learn how to build your own online site with a shop, lookbook, etc. Learning web design and photography can save you lots of money! “

Kylie Minogue in Gold Saturn
Kylie Minogue in Gold Saturn
Kourtney Kardashian in Gold Saturn
Kourtney Kardashian in Gold Saturn
Katie Price in Gold Saturn from Spoiled Brat
Katie Price in Gold Saturn from Spoiled Brat

 

Leave a Reply

